Event Details

Monday, May 1, 2017
Department of Linguistics
Call for Papers: LECT - Working Papers in Language Sciences and Research at HKU

Message from Department of Linguistics LECT - Working Papers in Language Sciences and Research at HKU Call for Papers Deadline – 1 May 2017 LECT is a new HKU working papers journal targeted at all areas of language science and research conducted by research postgraduates and staff at HKU. Submissions are currently open for the journal’s first round of publication. Through a simple peer review process, LECT will provide constructive feedback and mentorship for those who are considering further publication. Each submission will be reviewed double-blind by one HKU scholar from the relevant sub-discipline. Successful submissions will be published in open-access format on the LECT site in September 2017. Scope The following fields are considered for submission: speech and hearing sciences, language pedagogy, applied and theoretical linguistics (including historical, psycho- and sociolinguistics), language policy, language documentation. Guidelines Full-length working paper: 5,000 words maximum, excluding references New discovery (new finding with little theoretical description, briefly state implications for further research): 2,000 words maximum, excluding references Squibs (a new idea for further theoretical consideration): 2,000 words maximum, excluding references Please submit files as a pdf, .doc, or .docx format. Submissions must be double spaced and in English with pages numbered throughout. Please include your full name, department, email, and supervisor (if applicable) in a separate title page file. The document with research content should have zero identifying information, including the filename. References should be cited according to APA style guidelines. Supplementary abstracts in Chinese are welcome for inclusion in final publication. Send all submission files to lectlang@hku.hk For any other enquiries please contact the editorial team at lectlang@hku.hk Editorial Team Arthur L. Thompson, Eileen Waegemaekers, Joe Perry Editorial Board Board members are from the School of English, the School of Speech and Hearing, and the Department of Linguistics

Web link for further information: